Local News Service / Fox 29

The Internship Portfolio of Brian Donathan

Learning the Newsdesk

As I mentioned before, I report to the newsdesk each day I’m at Fox29. As an intern in the newsroom I’ve had to quickly learn the station’s system of gathering, recording, and communicating news to the entire newsroom staff.
Part of this process deals with handling incoming calls, which can be anything from an on location reporter calling for one of the producers to a member of the public providing a breaking news tip.
I have learned how incoming news is both queued for further review, and how to personally follow up on stories that are incomplete. I have spoke with police captains, concerned citizens, disgruntled workers, and angry parents. The process is constant and always changing. To put it as mildly as I possibly can… I love it.
To be fair, there are times when the news is slow coming, and that can be a bit frustrating, but more often than not I am faced with a story or two that requires the deeper digging to determine what really took place. That is the joy of the newsdesk — piecing it all together so the producers can put it into words the anchors can relay to the public.

February 4, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

